Posted by: Becky | October 11, 2008

UGH….emotionally exhausting day

I cannot get the image out of my mind….  I had to do the Heimlich maneuver on Adam today.  😦  One of his friends had given him a polished rock at school today.   I saw him playing with it when he came home from school.  A loves small things….and he loves putting stuff into his mouth.  😦  I was feeding Owen and heard this loud, horrible sucking sound.   For some reason I immediately knew what was happening.  Adam was laying on the floor watching Dora and the rock ended up in his throat.  I ran over to where he was shocked that I was going to have to do the Heimlich to help him.  Sure I’d had CPR training as a teaching requirement (going back to my time in Waterford)….but I was scared…did I know how to do it.  After about three hard thrusts from behind, out popped the rock onto the floor as well as some vomit.  GOD, I have never been so scared in my life.  I wanted to put the fear of God in  him, but I really don’t think he gets it.  He sees at Occupational Therapist at school once/week.  I will make a contact with her next week to see what we need to do or who we need to talk to to help with his oral fixation.  We cannot watch him 24/7 and he’s very sneaky.  The “what if’s” are very frightening to me.

Responses

  1. I still want you to put the Silence of the Lambs mask on him until you figure out what to do. Little bugger.


Leave a Reply

Categories

