Posted by: Becky | September 23, 2008

Sapphire Sisters…..

On Saturday I hosted a special group of friends for a birthday breakfast.  These ladies are near and dear to me and just so happen to be fellow September birthday celebrants.  I thought it would be a perfect way to honor us all and get some nice, quality time together before the hub-bub that our weekends always seem to bring. 

I scurried around much of last week preparing for the grand event.  I had my menu planned before we left for our trip, but still had to do the grocery shopping.  I also needed to buy the treats for the goodie bag and table favors that I wanted to do.  Oh and then there was the house cleaning.  Thankfully our wonderful house cleaners came the Monday we returned from Kauai otherwise I’d really have been hurtin.  Mounds of laundry, piles of mail, newspaper, magazines, etc.  You know the fun things to sift through after a trip. 

So the menu was set:  Creme Brulee French Toast, Ham/Cheese/Spinach Strata, pineapple and mango, bacon, coffee, oj, champagne and red velvet cupcakes.  I have to admit, the food was yuummmmm.  There was barely anything left.  I got the ingredients to prep the strata tomorrow and bake it for breakfast on my birthday Wed.  🙂  Can’t wait.  The table setting favor was a Chinese takeout box with lemon iced sugar cookies and some Ghiradelli chocolates.  The party “treat bag” held 5 tulip bulbs to be planted soon and enjoyed in the spring (hopefully in time for our half birthdays). 

Here’s the table when I was done setting it the night before:

 

Steve took the boys out for donuts and hot cocoa while I got ready for the party.  Adam was so funny when they got home.  He looked around the kitchen and proclaimed….”WoW, the kitchen is so CLEAN!!!”  Guess I need to have people over more often.  LoL  He was really excited for the party, but was going to be hanging out upstairs with Daddy in The Boys Room.  He did check in periodically to say hi or answer the door.  Funny kid. 

Of course, I spaced on taking pictures while we were visiting and only remembered the camera as things were winding down.   I was able to get Steve to take a nice picture of us all.

The Sapphire Sisters

The Sapphire Sisters: Michelle, Heidi, Tammy, Becky, Kristin, Patricia, Sandie

Sandie, Patricia, Michelle

Sandie, Patricia, and Michelle

Tammy taking a call from her people.

Tammy taking a call from one of her people.

 

say "prunes"  (to get the pucker effect...lol)

Say "Prunes"

Heidi and Kristin

Heidi and Kristin

It really was a wonderful morning and I’m so glad I got to share it with such special people.  I look forward to seeing tulips in your yards next spring and to a special celebration next fall.  🙂 
Happy Birthday Ladies!!!
Responses

  1. Becky,

    LOVE YOUR SITE!!! Thank you again for making such a special time for all of us girls! The food was sooooo good!!!

    Love you!

    Sandie

  2. Oh my gosh Becky!!! I really enjoyed your story : ) You really went over the top with all the decorations, treats and DEE-LISH-OUS food!! The Creme Brule French Toast was The Best!!! I will be making it soon!!

    So glad to have you as a friend and all my fellow Sapphire Sisters!!! It was truly one of the best ways I have ever spent my birthday with friends!!

    Thank you again Becky for all the dee-lish treats and great company!!! I had such a great time and cannot wait til our limo ride next Sapphire September!!!

    xoxoxoTammy


Leave a Reply

Categories

